The Church of Jerusalem



The Church of Jerusalem
The Church of Jerusalem

The Greek Orthodox Church of Jerusalem, also known as the Greek Orthodox Patriarchate of Jerusalem, is a member of the Eastern Orthodox Communion.
It is regarded by Orthodox Christians as the mother church of all of Christendom, because it was in Jerusalem that the Church was established on the day of Pentecost with the descent of the Holy Spirit on the disciples of Jesus Christ (Acts 2:1-41).

From Jerusalem the Gospel of Christ was spread to the world. This church is part of the universal Eastern Orthodox Church. It is also often called the Church of Zion.
The Church of Jerusalem was declared a patriarchate with primacy in its area (over the claims of the bishop of Caesarea) at the Quinisext Council (the council “in Trullo” 692), which established the canons of the Sixth Ecumenical Council.
On August 22, 2005, the Holy Synod of the Church of Jerusalem unanimously elected Theofilos III, the former Archbishop of Tabor, as the 141st Patriarch of Jerusalem.

Type your query in the box below:


To Top