Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America



Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of AmericaThe Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America, headquartered in New York City, is an eparchy of the Church of Constantinople.
The Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America is composed of an Archdiocesan District (New York City) and eight metropolises: New Jersey, Chicago, Atlanta, Detroit, San Francisco, Pittsburgh, Boston and Denver.

The Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America is governed by the Archbishop and the Eparchial Synod of Bishops. The Synod of Bishops is headed by the archbishop and comprised of the bishops who oversee the ministry of the metropolises. It has all the authority and responsibility which the Church canons provide for a provincial synod.

There are about 540 parishes, 800 priests and approximately 440,000 to 2,000,000 faithful in the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America, depending on the source of reports and the counting method being used.
The number of parishes in the Greek Archdiocese rose by about 9% in the decade from 1990 to 2000, and membership growth has largely been in terms of existing members having children.
The Archdiocese also includes 21 monastic communities, 17 of which were founded by Elder Ephraim (former abbot of Philotheou Monastery (Athos). The largest of these is St. Anthony’s Greek Orthodox Monastery (Florence, Arizona).

Type your query in the box below:

To Top

Additionally, one seminary is operated by the Greek Archdiocese, Holy Cross Greek Orthodox School of Theology in Brookline, Massachusetts, which educates not only Greek Archdiocese seminarians but also those from other jurisdictions, as well.
The Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America is also a member of SCOBA.

Its current primate is His Eminence Archbishop Demetrios (Trakatellis) of America.

To Top