The Ukrainian Parishes



The Ukrainian Orthodox Church of the USA and Diaspora
The Ukrainian Orthodox Church of the USA (UOC of USA) is a jurisdiction of the Ecumenical Patriarchate in the United States.
In 1923 a petition was sent to the newly formed Ukrainian Autocephalous Orthodox Church (UAOC), a jurisdiction formed in the aftermath of Ukrainian independence in 1918, but which has never enjoyed canonical recognition in mainstream Orthodoxy.

On April 9, 1929, a meeting of 15 clergy and 24 laity was held in Allentown, Pennsylvania, at St. Mary’s Ukrainian Catholic Church, in which those attending agreed to form a diocese of Ukrainian Orthodox Christians, though unlike those who had affiliated themselves with the UAOC, they wished to be part of a recognized canonical authority.

On March 12, 1995, all the Ukrainian hierarchs outside of Ukraine which had not yet done so were received into the Ecumenical Patriarchate. The following year, in November, the Ukrainian Orthodox Church in the USA (formerly under the UAOC) and the Ukrainian Orthodox Church of America (under Constantinople since 1937) were finally united, with Vsevolod becoming one of the new jurisdiction’s diocesan bishops.

Type your query in the box below:

To Top

The Ukrainian Orthodox Church in the USA is divided into three eparchies:
– Central Eparchy (Florida, Georgia, Ohio, Upstate New York, Western Pennsylvania), headed by Metr. Constantine of Irinoupolis (Parma, Ohio);
– Eastern Eparchy (Connecticut, Delaware, Massachusetts, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Eastern Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Virginia), headed by Abp. Antony of Hierapolis (New York, New York and Washington D.C.);
– Western Eparchy (Arizona, California, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Oregon, Washington, Wisconsin), headed by Bishop Daniel of Pamphilion (Chicago, Illinois).
In total, there are about 105 parishes, two monasteries, and one seminary (St. Sophia Ukrainian Orthodox Theological Seminary in South Bound Brook, New Jersey).
Besides the three hierarchs, the clergy consists of 106 priests and 15 deacons.

Current primate is His Beatitude, Metropolitan Constantine (Bahan) of Irinoupolis.

To Top