The Autocephalous Churches



Logos of the 14 Autocefalous
Logos of the 14 Autocephalous

There are 15 Autocephalous (self-governing) and 4 Autonomous (self-ruling) Orthodox Churches around the World. An autocephalous church possesses the right to resolve all internal problems on its own authority and the ability to choose its own bishops, including the Patriarch, Archbishop or Metropolitan who heads the church. While each autocephalous church acts independently, they all remain in full sacramental and canonical communion with one another.
Today these autocephalous Orthodox churches include the four ancient Eastern Patriarchates (Constantinople, Alexandria, Antioch, and Jerusalem), and ten other Orthodox churches that have emerged over the centuries in Russia, Serbia, Romania, Bulgaria, Georgia, Cyprus, Greece, Poland, Albania, and the Czech and Slovak Republics.

On its own initiative, the Patriarchate of Moscow has granted autocephalous status to most of its parishes in North America under the name of the Orthodox Church in America. But since the Patriarchate of Constantinople claims the exclusive right to grant autocephalous status, it and most other Orthodox churches do not recognize the autocephaly of the American church.

Nine of these autocephalous churches are Patriarchates: Constantinople, Alexandria, Antioch, Jerusalem, Russia, Serbia, Romania, Bulgaria and Georgia. The others are headed by an Archbishop or Metropolitan.

Type your query in the box below:

To Top

A list of all the Autocephalous Churches

A list of all the Autocephalous Churches is given below:
The Church of Constantinople
The Church of Alexandria
The Church of Antioch
The Church of Jerusalem
The Church of Russia
The Church of Georgia
The Church of Serbia
The Church of Romania
The Church of Bulgaria
The Church of Cyprus
The Church of Greece
The Church of Albania
The Church of Poland
The Church of the Czech Lands and Slovakia
The Orthodox Church in America(OCA)

To Top

To Top